Excellence in Safety Awards

Excellence in Safety Awards

The University Laboratory Safety Committee’s “Excellence in Safety” awards recognize a university faculty or staff member (Individual Award), student (Individual Student Award) and a laboratory research group (Group Award) who have made a considerable contribution to improving laboratory safety on the Ohio State campus. Such contributions can be defined as but are not limited to actions taken to prevent injury or illness, outstanding response and cooperation given to resolve unsafe conditions, consistent improvement during laboratory inspections, or any other consistent and proactive demonstration of efforts in support of a positive laboratory safety culture.

Environmental Health and Safety and the Office of Research coordinate and implement the University Laboratory Safety Committee (ULSC). The goal of the ULSC is to enhance the safety culture at The Ohio State University by helping to shape safety programs, review and distribute new regulatory information, and provide feedback from the university community regarding current laboratory safety incidents or issues. The ULSC consists of faculty, research staff, graduate students and department safety coordinators.

Nominations for 2019 individual, group and individual student awards will be accepted from January 11, 2019 through February 25, 2019.

The ULSC will review nominations and choose the award winners. Presentations will be made in May 2019 at an awards luncheon. The winners of the individual awards will be presented with commemorative plaques. The winning laboratory research group will be presented with a commemorative plaque and a $500 award to be used for safety-related purchases, such as safety supplies, new personal protective equipment, training, etc.

As always, thank you for your commitment to making The Ohio State University a safe working environment for everyone!